Living Outside the Goldfish Bowl

I’m now 81. As an only child I lived through WWII and watched some of what was going on in the skies over Southern England as the Germans attacked London. Growing up after the war there was no TV; no computers; food was rationed; and we had to make our own amusements!
Neither of my parents who left school at 13 and 14, ever owned a Bible and only ever went to church for weddings and funerals. I was ‘forced’ to go to a Baptist Sunday School from the age of 9 with an acquaintance of my father, because my parents wanted me to be better educated than they were. I walked away just before I was 14.

My next real encounter with Christianity was some 10 years later when I started to assist running a Cub Scout Pack attached to the Anglican church where I had met and married my wife. We moved away from London and within three years I was treasurer of the local church – a position I held for 8 years. But by this time I had become disillusioned by what I saw as a lack of ‘radical’ Christianity and walked away in the early 1970’s. I have no recollection of ever doubting the existence of God. With hindsight this was the beginning  of my first wilderness experience that lasted several years.

My formal education ended when I was 17. I was talking to my grandson last year when I realised that my life has consisted of two quite separate journeys. There was the Christian journey and there was the world of a computer programmer and business analyst (very analytical and methodical) that started in 1967 on a mainframe computer that had only 4K of memory! These journeys only really came together when I was made redundant again in 1990, when I bought my first PC with 2K of memory and an 80MB hard disk! I first had a dial-up internet connection in 1997 – how life has changed since then!!!

I am now finding it harder to collect my thoughts and a few months ago I decided to step back and reorganise my blog so that I could concentrate on sharing some of my thoughts on a limited number of topics. This proved to be far more difficult than I expected.

You can see my introduction here.

About Peter

I am now 81 and walked away from 'traditional' Christianity over 40 years ago. I seem to have a bit of a reputation for asking some of the awkward questions to which there are no easy answers.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

