Time to Step Back

I have made some significant changes to the blog over the last three months (it’s now October).

It is said that there is a book in each of us waiting to get out. Instead of writing a book I started developing a web site 17 years ago that became the foundation of my blog.
When people publish a book there always has to be a ‘cut off’.
I’m now 82 and my understanding has been changing, sometimes quite dramatically over the years, especially between 1995 and 1998 and again since 2013, and as those thoughts have changed my blog has reflected those changes.
I’ve felt for over a year that it’s time to draw a line in the sand, but at my age it has proved to be very frustrating trying to collect my thoughts because it is still an ongoing story. I’ve been reluctant until now to make that ‘cut off’!

I have been on what I describe as a journey through Christendom that began during World War 2 when at the age of 9 my parents (who left school at 13 and 14 and never owned a Bible) sent me to a Baptist Sunday School because they wanted me to be better educated than they were. It was when I was 13 that I rejected what I had been taught about the trinity and walked away! With hindsight that really was a major influence on my thinking over the years. By the time I was 28 I was treasurer of the local Anglican Church but by the early 1970’s I had become disillusioned by what I saw as a lack of ‘radical’ Christianity, along with an inability to get answers to some of my questions.

The following has been part of the introduction to my blog for some time:

Are you or have you been on a Journey away from Traditional Christianity?

Where are you now on your Journey?

  • Maybe you are one of the DONESDone with Religion – or someone who thinks of themselves as SBNRSpiritual But Not Religious.
  • Perhaps you would describe yourself as an Ex-Christian or Atheist but still looking for opportunities to share your thoughts in a constructive way.
  • Many have become ‘disillusioned’ with some aspects of what they had been taught about the Christian RELIGION (or CHRISTENDOM).
    [This was an important part of my journey and I have explained in some detail what I understand by this].
  • Many people within the different denominations recognise that some things need to change. Others recognise that any denomination can only take its people as far as their own traditions and denominational theology will allow, and are looking for some of those deeper insights.
  • Some have been abused by leaders; some are angry that they have been deceived while others have simply let go of what they had been taught.
  • Perhaps you have considered some of the very diverse views of people who describe themselves as Progressive Christians where some are working from within while others have moved beyond the confines of their own denomination.

 ***

If you can relate to any of the above, have you ever really considered:

What does it mean to  believe in God?  and  Where is God?

Where is heaven and hell?

What are the differences between Christians, Agnostics and Atheists?
Is there truth
that lies somewhere between the two extremes?

I have never had any formal theological training but in 1995 I was led to reconsider just about everything I had ever been taught (for the second time) – and that is a long story! A very close friend on this journey once said, “Peter, you have the knack of asking some of the awkward questions to which there are no easy answers”. My blog is full of unanswered questions.

To sum up the purpose of the blog:
I’d like to think that I can provide a Safe Haven for a few people who may be on a similar journey (whether or not they have had any formal theological training) and encourage them to share their thoughts, think for themselves and ask their own questions.

In “My Story” I’ve tried to explain something of how I’ve come to see the significance of these questions.

Could I suggest that you start with “Food for Thought” and then “What does it mean to believe in God?”

About Peter

I am now 82 and walked away from 'traditional' Christianity over 45 years ago. I stopped attending church in 2009. I have a bit of a reputation for asking some of the awkward questions to which there are no easy answers.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

